You Can Pay Online  
234th Season

The St.Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra


The St.Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra, led by Yuri Temirkanov, is the oldest orchestra in Russia. Its official birthday, 1882, is preceded by a series of events that now comprise the history of musical life in the former capital of the Russian Empire. When Peter the Great laid the foundations for the city of St.Petersburg in 1703, he was determined that his new capital would be a European town. Leading Italian, and later German, composers and musicians lived and created in the city on the Neva.

In 1802, a group of music-loving Russian aristocrats founded Europe’s first philharmonic society in the city.
On 19th October 1917, during the Great October Revolution, the orchestra was changed by decree into a state orchestra
and gave its first public concert in the Soviet Union on 8th November. A year later the orchestra was incorporated into the newly founded Petrograd Philharmonic, which became the first major musical organization in the USSR.

In October 1920, the People’s Commissar of Education, Anatoly Lunacharsky, himself a lover of classical music, issued the following decree: «I declare the Petrograd State Philharmonic Orchestra to be the only symphonic institution of the republic and as such a model and exemplary body. Any infringement leading to the disorganization of the activities of the orchestra or any other attempts to destroy it are hereby decreed a felony. The State Philharmonic Orchestra of Petrograd must remain an inviolable Institution of national importance.»

In the following years, the orchestra’s repertoire was developed and expanded by its administrative directors, Ossovskaya and Sollertinsky, who introduced performances of the Beethoven, Mahler and Bruckner symphonic cycles. Mravinsky took over as music director in 1938 and continued in this position for almost 50 years.
There was a great artistic friendship between Mravinsky and Shostakovich, and Mravinsky became the first and the most renowned interpreter of Shostakovich’s works. The orchestra frequently gave premiere performances of his works which now take a special place in the orchestra’s repertoire. After Mravinsky’s death in 1988 Yuri Temirkanov was appointed Music Director and Principal Conductor of the Orchestra.
The St.Petersburg Philharmonic was the
first Soviet orchestra to tour abroad. After the war, the orchestra toured over 25 countries in Europe, Asia, and America conducted by Stokowski, Munch, Cluyens, Markevitch, Kosef Krips, Kodaly and Britten. In addition to its regular concert series at the renowned philharmonic Hall in St.Petersburg, the Orchestra now regularly tours Europe, Japan and the USA. In 1991, shortly after the renaming of the city, the Orchestra changed its name from the Leningrad Philharmonic the St.Petersburg Philharmonic.

During the past ten years the orchestra has completed substantial tours throughout Germany, Switzerland, Austria, Spain, Italy, the UK, the USA, South America, the Far East and Japan, and appeared at major summer festivals including Lucerne, Salzburg, Edinburgh and the BBS Proms.
The orchestra can be heard with Yuri Temirkanov conducting on BMG Classics and Warner, with Mariss Jansons on EMI an With Vladimir Ashkenasy on Decca.

International recognition: press reviews about tours of theSt.Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra worldwide



Maestro Yuri TEMIRKANOVArtistic director and Chief conductor


Nikolai ALEXEEVConductor

First violins

Laureate of All-Russian competitions, Holder of All-Union competitions diploma, Honoured artist of Russia Lev Klytchkov
Pavel Popov
Alexander Zolotarev
Yuri Uschapovsky
Valentin Lukin
Sergei Teterin
Holder of All-Russian competitions diploma Olga Rybaltchenko
Natalia Sokolova
Alexei Vasiliev
Alexander Rikhter
Mikhail Alexeev
Laureate of International competition Vadim Selitsky
Grigori Sedukh
Nikolai Tkachenko
Tatiana Makarova
Renata Bakhrakh
Lia Melik-Muradian
Konstantin Rassokhin
Ruslan Kozlov

Second violins

Honoured artist of Russia Mikhail Estrin
Arkadi Naiman
Tatiana Shmeleva
Arkadi Malein
Ludmila Odintsova
Joanna Proskurova
Lubov Khatina
Anatoli Babitsky
Nikolai Dygodiuk
Dmitri Koriavko
Holder of All-Russian competition diploma Tamara Tomskaya
Olga Kotliarevskaya
Konstantin Basok
Aexander Bulov

Bass Clarinet

Vladislav Verkovich


Alexei Silutin


Honoured artist of Russia Igor Sharapov
Honoured artist of Russia Mikhail Romanov

Oleg Grechnev
Alexei Belyaev


Honoured artist of Russia Oleg Talypin
Holder of International competition diploma Sergei Bazhenov

Mikhail Karpinskyl


Laureate of All-Russian and International competitions,
Honoured artist of Russia Maxim Ignatiev
Laureate of the International competition Dmitri Andreev
Laureate of All-Russian and International competitions
Vitali Gorlitsky

Denis Nesterov


People‘s artist of Russia, Laureate of International competition Andrei Glukhov
Laureate of International competition Igor Karzov

Anatoli Surzhok
Laureate of International competition Anatoli Musarov
Vitali Musarov
Nikolai Dubrovin


Honoured artist of Russia Sergei Slovachevsky
Honoured artist of Russia Nikolai Gerunyan

Valeri Naidenov
Honoured artist of Russia Sergei Chernyadiev
Taras Trepel
Laureate of All-Russian competition, Honoured artist of Russia Iosif Levinzon
Viktor Ivanov
Holder of International competition diploma Yaroslav Cherenkov
Kyrill Arkhipov
Nikolai Matveev
Alexander Kulibabin


Honoured artist of Russia Andrei Dogadin
Yuri Dmitriev
Vladimir Ivanov
Artur Kosinov
Yuri Anikeev
Laureate of International competition Alexei Bogorad
Laureate of International competition Garik Meerovitch

Elena Panfilova
Dmitri Kosolapov
Konstantin Bytchkov
Roman Ivanov
Mikhail Anikeev
Alexei Koptev


Laureate of International competition, Honoured artist of Russia Marina Vorozhtsova
Igor Kotov
Olga Viland
Laureate of International competition Olesya Tertichnaya

Timpani and Percussion

Honoured artist of Russia Sergei Antoshkin
Valeri Znamensky
Laureate of the All-Russian competition Dmitri Klemenok
Konstantin Soloviev
Ruben Ramazyan
Honoured artist of Russia Alexander Mikhailov

English Horn

Mikhail Dimsky


Valentin Avvakumov


Ruslan Khokholkov
Artem Isaev
Pavel Serebryakov


Laureate of International competition Anna Makarova
Andris Izmailov


Laureate of the International competition Andrei Laukhin
Honoured artist of Russia Valentin Karlov

Denis Sukhov
Igor Gerasimov


Artem Chirkov
Laureate of All-Union competition, Honoured artist of Russia Alexander Schilo
Laureate of All-Union competition Rostislav Yakovlev

Oleg Kyrillov
Mikhail Glazachev
Nikolai Chausov
Alexei Ivanov
Alexei Chubachin
Nikolai Siray
Arseni Petrov

Piano and celesta

Maxim Pankov


Leonid Voronov

Chief administrator

Mikhail Kunyavsky


Laureate of the international competitions Ilia Teplyakov 

Mariinsky Theatre:
1 Theatre Square
St. Petersburg
Mariinsky-2 (New Theatre):
34 Dekabristov Street
St. Petersburg
Mariinsky Concert Hall:
20 Pisareva street
St. Petersburg

To make an order, please use mobile version of our website - buy tickets from any smartphone

Enter now for your chance to win a Mariinsky Backstage Tour for 2 !
An error occured. Please, try again.
You're In!
Now you are participating in the drawing of amazing Mariinsky Backstage Tour for 2!